The Newberry

Mapping Movement

About the Newberry Mapping Movement

Mapping Movement in American History and Culture is a publication of the Newberry Library's Hermon Dunlap Smith Center for the History of Cartography. The production of this site was made possible by a major grant from the Preservation and Access Division of the National Endowment for the Humanities, an independent agency of the United States Government. 

The editors are deeply appreciative of the intellectual and technical guidance and generous and patient support provided by the Northwestern University Advanced Media Production Studio (NUAMPS), a professional production team within Northwestern University Information Technology (NUIT), Academic & Research Technologies, who undertook the site design, technical development, and image capture and processing.

All essays in Mapping Movement in American History and Culture is were subject to double-blind peer review. The editors are grateful for the conscientious work of many peer reviews, who must remain nameless.

James R. Akerman, The Newberry Library
Peter Nekola, The Newberry Library

Project Advisors: 
Michael P. Conzen, University of Chicago
Gerald A. Danzer, University of Illinois at Chicago
Ronald Grim, Boston Public Library
Jo Guldi, Brown University
David Rumsey, Cartography Associates
Susan Schulten, University of Denver

Many departments of the Newberry Library cooperated in the creation of this resource, including:

The Newberry Library, Department of Digital Images and Services
Jennifer Thom
Catherine Gass
John Powell
Adam Strohm

The Newberry Library, Department of Collection Services
Linda Ballinger
Patrick Morris
Jessica Grzegorski
Graham Greer

The Newberry Library, Editorial Staff 
Will Gosner
Anne E. Cullen
Jarrett P. Dunning
Kristin Emery
Andrew Epps
Douglas Knox
Maisie O'Malley

Editorial Assistants:
Daniel Greenberg
Daniel Jacobs

The Newberry Library, Department of Conservation Services
Lesa Dowd
Linda Kinnaman
Barbara Korbel
Kaytee Meade
Virginia Meredith
Becky Saiki

The Newberry Library, Department of Information Technology
Drin Gyuk

This project could not have been undertaken without the support of:
James Grossman
Daniel Greene
David Spadafora
Diane Dillon
D. Bradford Hunt

This project also owes much to the tireless work of the Newberry Library Special Collections and General Reading Room Staff.

Additional materials appear in the project thanks to:
Arthur and Janet Holzheimer
The British Library
The Milwaukee Public Library
The United States Army Corps of Engineers

The following contributors gifted materials for the project to the Newberry Library:
James R. Akerman
Gerald A. Danzer
Ralph Ehrenberg
Peter Nekola

*Author biographies forthcoming